US Soccer’s Referee Director: Moreno Goal Was Interference

In an interview with Major League Soccer's official site, US Soccer director of referee development Paul Tamberino said that Jaime Moreno's goal in DC United's 3-2 loss to Philadelphia was a clear case of interference. Moreno took the ball off of Union goalkeeper Chris Seitz as he was preparing to punt it up field.

“By law there can be no interference, no fakes, no head attempts, nothing that interferes with the goalkeeper’s ability to release the ball within the six or seven seconds,” Tamberino said. “The goalkeeper needs to be free of interference and he can do whatever he wants in those six to seven seconds.”

Instead of United's second goal, the correct call would've been a freekick for Philadelphia and a yellow card for Moreno.

Comments are closed.